Telling a different story!

Home Forums ELO Forum Telling a different story!

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Julie Mann
      Participant

Hi everyone,

I had the most enlightening session with Gillian today. (Sidebar, I highly recommend having one if you are able. She is just brilliant (as you already know) and every time we talk I come away with a completely new set of insights and understandings.)

One thing she reflected to me is that my posts here can often sound as if I’m really struggling when the truth is that I’m really doing quite well.

And as I am soon to turn 50 I am ready to leave all the old stories behind me, and tell a new one!

So here’s a great story to share. I’m a teacher and my school is located in Queens, NY, and it’s a school for new immigrants. And our community was hit very hard by COVID. I’ve been quite worried about whether or not we will return to work in the fall or continue with distance learning. I prefer the latter because I don’t feel safe commuting by subway nor do I feel safe being in a school at all because you cannot socially distance in a school (in my opinion). And my partner is immunocompromised so if I return to commuting and being in school I cannot see him.

Today my principal had a meeting about our proposal for the fall and I used Gillian’s suggestion of being on high alert for addictive desire. Sure enough, at lunch and after lunch, before the meeting, I started thinking about eating. And I was able to call it out and recognize the desire for what it was, and calmly get on with my day. Then I attended the meeting and felt the tension in my body and let it be there. It waxed and waned and it might continue to resurface as we were left with more questions than answers. And I will remain on high alert at dinner. I will plate my food and expect the desire for more and then take a stand knowing that food holds no answers to my returning to work nor will it assuage my anxiety.