Weight/fashion is my rescue motivator :(

Home Forums ELO Forum Weight/fashion is my rescue motivator :(

Viewing 8 reply threads
  • Author
      Joey B
      Participant

Hi Gillian,

How do I not fall back on the motivation for weight and fitting into my nice clothes?

QUICK BACKGROUND ON ME:
      I have two problems. Binge eating (but doing less of that this year with my other self-help self-study). I am more troubled now with my second problem of just eating on and on after meals and having a propensity for snacks. I have a decent metabolism, but I also am pretty committed to exercising. I really do enjoy cakes/patisserie and gourmet cooking/eating. I am an avid baker, doing beautiful creations for my friends and coworkers up to 3 x per week. Baking and patisserie is my hobby and passion. I could practically enter a baking show competition as I take it so seriously and take meticulous care in making my creations

MY IMMEDIATE MOTIVATORS NOT TO EAT in excess:
      Not to have a syrup-y stomach feeling. To not feel sluggish when I exercise. To enjoy my next proper meal be having true physical hunger. Not to feel ashamed and guilty.

I UNDERSTAND I CAN EAT ANYTHING/EVERYTHING AND THERE WILL BE MY CONSEQUENCES I HAVE TO SUFFER:

BUT! I do love and enjoy beautiful patisserie and I do choose to have some. And I can in moderation without consequence. But then I might get possessed and want more & more & more. I will be a risk for a binge or big overeating session. I can sometimes break it by saying something like, “Leave the room now! If you can do this, it will pay off in not gaining weight”. The consequences listed under my immediate motivators are not consequential enough on their own to make me stop and eat less when I am about to get possessed

SO I am stuck. My weight is my hero motivator